Selectmen Contest Reaches March Ballot

School committee and housing authority races could join it Tuesday night.

Westborough voters will have three -- and possibly four -- choices for two three-year seats on the board of selectmen at the March 5 annual town election.

And races for school committee and housing authority hinge on who returns their nomination papers to Town Clerk Nancy Yendriga by the 5 p.m. Tuesday deadline.

Incumbents Timothy Dodd and Leigh Emery, and Ruggles Street resident Stephen Faris, have all returned papers for selectman, Yendriga said Friday night. Mayberry Drive resident and retired firefighter Francis Sowa also took out papers for selectman by the 5 p.m. Friday deadline.

Two three-year seats on the school committee are on the ballot as well.

Incumbents Stephen Doret and Bruce Tretter have returned their papers. Westminster Way resident Danielle Carrigo also took out papers.

Meanwhile, two people have taken out papers for a three-year term on the Westborough Housing Authority, but haven't returned them: Whitney Street resident Jill Dupree and Smith Street resident William Linnane.

Incumbent Charles Naples has instead returned papers for a five-year term on the housing board. That incumbent, Julie Pappazsis, will not seek re-election.

Incumbent planning board member Joanne Mallozzi has taken out papers to return to that board for a five-year term, but hasn't returned them.

Three three-year seats on the Westborough Public Library board of trustees are on the ballot. Incumbents Karen Griegal and Geralyn Kohler will not seek re-election.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »